Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2009

Winderlust is on a distinguished road
Any Red Flags Here?

I've posted my availability as an ocean passage delivery crew. I received today an email saying:

"Have a catalina 36ft sail boat leaving miami to bahamas/bermuda/azores/uk in around two weeks, if you are interested please email"

I responded asking for more details about boat, captain, crew and contract. I'm new to this crewing stuff and I was hoping my first bluewater would be something like a 2 week passage to/from Hawaii/W. Coast.

I live in Los Angeles and this would be a blind start for me in Miami.

By my guestimation (if all goes well) this would be about 32 days on the water and I think 2 or 3 days breather after each leg; something like May 27 to July 9 total (nothing goes all well).

It's a lot to consider and prepare for (logistically) in just 2 weeks and I can't really afford to many false starts or delays.

Is this schedule pushing it or am I just a big weeney?

I Sure could use an opinion out there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 05-13-2009

mrwuffles is on a distinguished road
Whos taking a catalina 36 across oceans?
Old 05-13-2009

JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough
I don't know about the schedule, but as much as I admire the Catalina 36, it's not a boat I'd want to cross an ocean in. Sure, it can make it provided weather is fair to moderate. But if luck runs out, it's not designed to withstand the long term, extreme stresses experienced in an ocean storm.

Have a read of This.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pacific Seacraft Crealock 31 #62