SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Need Help Identifying a boat (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/54471-need-help-identifying-boat.html)

newbie13 05-18-2009 10:49 PM

Need Help Identifying a boat

just saw it today at a used car lot way out in BFE here in the mountains of NC.

The car guy said it was a Sunstar 19 but I think he was confused with the party boat next to it :rolleyes:

I didn't measure it but 19 seemed about right.

It had twin keels, a through hull rudder with a skeg in front of it...i'm new to all this so pardon incorrect terms please :) ... a small cabin w/ basically two berths/benches joining at the bow...no other cabin details as it was locked up.

It was fairly beamy and looked to maybe draft around 3'

the guy said it was a English/British boat built for crossing the channel???
he also said he thought it weighed about 1200#

anyone have any idea what this boat is?

TIA!

Matt

ps: no camera today but will try to get a pic someday soon

Sailormann 05-18-2009 10:59 PM

There is a British company called Westerly that produced a number of twin keel boats.

newbie13 05-18-2009 11:25 PM

thanks...no luck so far with finding one of their boats at 19'

i need to go back out there with a camera and a tape measure

he's asking way too much though ( i think ) at $2500. She's got some minor hull damage and i saw several spots on the cabin top that looked like Bondo :eek:

but, she look's like a good little boat and possibly a great first boat

poopdeckpappy 05-19-2009 01:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by newbie13 (Post 487488)
i need to go back out there with a camera and a tape measure

Could be a old Pirate yacht express 17

newbie13 05-19-2009 07:55 AM