SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Beautiful offshore moment (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/54961-beautiful-offshore-moment.html)

oceangirl 06-04-2009 02:18 PM

Beautiful offshore moment

I was thinking about how many stories we swap about fun times, hardship, repairs, even scary times and I thought to try to start a thread focusing on a beautiful offshore experience. Ive never started a thread before and I am new to this web forum thingy stuff so I hope this is okay.

Here is one of the many times God has knocked my socks off while sailing offshore.

One day in the Atlantic, I was sailing along with seas off the beam, my boat fell off an especially large wave into a trough. In the trough, we were surrounded by a wall of deep blue water about as high as the spreaders (beautiful!). Anyways, it was a bright sunny day, we fell off this big wave into a trough, and off my beam in the wall of the next wave is a 20 ft pilot whale. The whale was above me looking down into the cockpit, and I was looking up at him into the wave. He was maybe 15 feet away, running parallel to the boat, his head even with the cockpit. I had the pilot whales complete profile from nose to tail and our eyes met! Never in all my imagination would I of thought Id have to look up to see a whale. That is the great thing about the ocean, it defies even my wildest imagination.

SecondWindNC 06-04-2009 02:24 PM

There's nothing like being offshore, with nothing but water and sky as far as the eye can see, to give you a little perspective. Especially at night, for some reason. It just always makes me realize how small I am and reminds me to just relish every moment that I'm here.

Geez, I'm sorry. I usually try not to be that sappy about it. :laugher

AjariBonten 06-04-2009 02:32 PM