SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Mac Dinghy

22K views 42 replies 15 participants last post by  Tom Dickson 
#1 ·
My first boat was a Mac Dinghy. I was looking for one and did find one. I am trying to put it back together it is mostly there. If anyone has any information about these boats or had one I would it would be greatly appreciated. The daggerboard isnt right and I am not sure the rudder right.

#2 ·
Hi,
I am really new to sailing and found your post online. I bought an old Mac Dinghy last year and have been learning to sail. Last week the weather was rougher than normal and the old wooden rudder literally disintegrated. :mad: Do you know if it is possible to buy another rudder for these old boats?
Thanks in advance for your response!

#6 ·
I bought a Mac Dinghy in august as my first sailboat. It has Penn sticker from 1969 but it seems brand new. If you need pictures or measurements of the rudder or daggerboard let me know. I haven't found any info regarding the Mac Dinghy and am curious as to it manufacturer and history.

#7 ·
The Mac dinghy was also my first boat many years ago. I stumbled across my boat years later. It kind of brings back memories when I first started to sail. I would like to put it back together. The dagger board inst right and the rudder also doesn't seem to be the way I remember it. Any help you can offer would be great, I do have a little info about the boat.

Nick

#10 ·
I still have my Mac Dinghy. I bought it new in 1970 in the Pittsburgh area. Cost $600 plus shippiing! Was a lot of money for a 14 year old. It is still very seaworthy. Have used the same sails since 1971 (original ones were defective). My original sail number was 2312, now 2358.

The daggerboard is just a piece of plywood. The pictures above look like bonafide original equipment.