SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Newbie here with a few questions!

2K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  SailNet Archive 
#1 ·
Hi, my name is Alyse, I am very new to the world of sail racing. In fact, I know absolutely nothing about it! However, the company that I work for is lookign to put together a television show featuring yacht racing, and I have a couple of questions:
1. What is a good kind of boat that can comfortably hold a team of 6 people? i.e. how long does it have to be?
2. What is the length of a typical race? What is the length of the shortest race?

If anyone can help me out with this, it is SO greatly appreciated! Or if anyone knows a good website with very, very basic information about yacht racing, I would also appreciate that (most of the sites I went to were for people knowledgable in yacht racing - or the links were broken!) Thank you so much for your help!!
Alyse
GoodFreak@aol.com

#2 ·
First of all, with a crew of 6 you are looking for a 34 to 35 footer. A J-105 would be pretty ideal. These are real race boats and they are quite common. They are fast enough to be interesting, yet docile enough that you are not putting your ''talent'' at risk.