Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2009

MtHopeBay is on a distinguished road
what kind of spinnaker do I have?

I have a spinnaker that came with the boat that I bought this year and I'm wondering how I can tell what kind it is? Symetrical, assymetrical, cruising?

I had it out of the bag for the first time and spread it in the back yard yesterday just to take a look. I'm still learning to handle the jim and main in my sloop rig but getting more and more curious about trying the spinnaker. From what I've been reading much depends on what kind I have.

It came with a spinnaker pole and the sheets and looks like it has everything else rigged to fly it. I'd just have to figure out what it all does.
Mike
Cal 36 #54
Ida Rose
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-29-2009

Boasun will become famous soon enough Boasun will become famous soon enough
Go out on a friend's boat that has a spinnaker and learn from him.

Just make sure that he isn't the "Capt Ron" or "Capt Wolf Larsen" type of person.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Maritime Instructor
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/V Rapture
Old 06-29-2009

JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough
If it's intended for use with a spin pole, it's likely a conventional symmetrical spinnaker.

If you have space to spread it out on the lawn, you can often tell merely by the shape. A symmetrical spinnaker will be shaped like an isosceles triangle. An asymmetric chute will be more like a scalene right triangle.

Pacific Seacraft Crealock 31 #62