SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Cabo Rico 38 (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/56913-cabo-rico-38-a.html)

mtlcharlie 08-08-2009 01:26 PM

Cabo Rico 38

Greetings Sailnet,

I am a brand new newbie. I am pleased to have the opportunity to learn so much from you.

I am retired, 58 in exc health (ride my bike 60 mi per day, 140 lbs). I have sailed very little, but enough to be bitten. I wish to liveaboard and seriously expect to go offshore, singlehand. My reading suggests a 38 Cabo Rico. I like the Shannon but it lacks the heart-tug. I possibly could afford a Hinckley 42, but I have not read they are worth the remarkable price increase.

Thank you.

camaraderie 08-09-2009 02:59 AM

That's a lot of boat to single hand...but they are beautiful and well made.
Are you looking to buy new or used? If new...check our Pacific Seacraft as well. Or perhaps a Robinhood36 (a new boat built in Maine from the old Cape Dory 36 molds.
If you are willing to look at smaller boats...check out the Gozzard 31...you seem to like clippers! :D
Gozzard Yachts - Profile

aa3jy 08-09-2009 08:53 AM

Ever consider a Cabo 34?

Regards,

Clay
s/v 'Tango'
Cabo Rico 34

mtlcharlie 08-09-2009 08:30 PM

Ty camaraderie for your reply. The picture wuth your response suggets a large vessel indeed. I may be wrong but I thought a 38 is manageable by one. But I will look into that aspect more carefully.

aa also tx. I noticed that the 34 CR is less narrow proportionally. This novice equates narrow with better. Do I exaggerate?

camaraderie 08-10-2009 12:51 AM