Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2009

mtlcharlie is on a distinguished road
Hinckley 42

I am looking forward to buying a sailboat, my first. I have little experience but have much researched, including Sailnet (thank you). The general reputation is that Hinckley is the best. If I can get my sailing kitty to accept the extra cost, would it be worth it?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-22-2009

Gramp34 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtlcharlie View Post
I am looking forward to buying a sailboat, my first. I have little experience but have much researched, including Sailnet (thank you). The general reputation is that Hinckley is the best. If I can get my sailing kitty to accept the extra cost, would it be worth it?
If money is no object to you, yes, Hinckleys are fine boats and could be expected to hold their value well, as long as you have them professionally maintained.

The question is, is it the right boat for you and the sailing you will do? If it isn't, you'll sell it, immediately losing 10% for the broker's commission, plus the sales tax paid when you bought the boat, and the cost of the professional upkeep one needs to keep from losing too much value.

If you're looking at a $300,000 boat, that means the ownership experiment will cost you $50,000 minimum.

It might be more economical in the long run to start sailing on something much more modest (it'll be more fun, too), make you're mistakes on a small boat that costs less to repair, and figure out exactly what you like and don't like on a boat. A Hinckley may be the answer at that point, or something else might be better for you.

Good luck,

Tim
Old 08-22-2009