Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2009

SunHawk is on a distinguished road
Cool Sailboat - LCD TV and Wall Mount

Ok, here's the plan. (I mean, this is what I did and should have planned )

I have a 1988 Hunter Legend 37. The port bulkhead was the largest available space for a wall mount LCD TV. The bulkhead is one inch thick (teak?).

I wanted as much screen, secure mounting and as little expense as possible.

I bought the Vizio 26" LCD HD TV and the K2-TB mount (allows some vertical tilt). I've used (4) 5/16" x 1" lag bolts. I have no experience with wall mounts.

I made the assumption that lateral swivel of the mount wasn't practical on a sailboat. (Comments?)

I'm wondering now if my LCD will slide off the wall during a pronounced heel. These "hang TV on wall bracket" mounts don't seem to have much lateral locking... (Comments? Alternatives?)

One thing I thought of doing was putting two more bolts on washers into the wall bracket in such a way as to act as "stoppers". But that's more holes in my bulkhead.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-01-2009

mattstamour is on a distinguished road
I use a bungy cord to secure mine while under way.

Noank, CT
Catalina 30
Hull #222
Old 09-01-2009
Best Looking MALE Mod

Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough
Here is what mine looks like:

I personally think you should Thru-bolt and not lag. This particular tv is solidly mounted. Hunter uses a similar mounting system. I suggest contacting Hunter directly for exactly what they use as if it is only sitting on a lip, a good heel and bounce could bring her off the mount. It needs to be a positive mount.

My opinions.

- CD