Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2009

leachjef is on a distinguished road
Anchoring/trip line

I live on a lake in Texas. The lake we boat on is small and was created by daming a river. So most of the bottom is covered by old dead trees, many still standing. After getting my danforth stlye anchor hopelessly stuck one day, I went out and bought a delta plow stlye anchor and trip line gear.(luckily I was able to retrieve my old anchor and rode a few days later as a back-up, good to have friends who can hod their breath) I am new to boating and ususally achor close to shore in small coves and only for the afternoon. My question is: What is the best gear and techniques for my situation? I understand the correct answer is find a better place to anchor, however the only places I know to have a clear bottom are poor place to put a hook since they are areas of high traffic and I think it would be unsafe. Any help/ideas would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-04-2009

sawingknots is on a distinguished road
I think almost all boaters have lost an anchor sooner or later in this manner[remember the nfl players in fla.]a trip line will work just tie a line to the heel of your anchor and a small buoy to the other end,give slack to your anchor rode and retrieve the anchor,using the trip line.one method to retrieve a fouled anchor is to slip a heavy iron ring over the end of the anchor rode and manipulate it until it slides over the shank of the fouled anchor so that it can be pulled from the heel,its better to have the line to the iron ring pulled by another boat so as to gain a better angle
Old 09-04-2009
Anchorsmith

Craig Smith is on a distinguished road
Arrow

www.rocna.com/kb/Buoyed_retrieval_line