SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Total Newbie Questions (Liveaboard)

5K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  tager 
#1 ·
Hello everyone.. :)

I'm totally new to this... I currently do not and have never owned a boat before, and have rarely been on a boat, and never a sailboat. I'm interested in living aboard one day soon but am concerned about the cost. I can easily manage with the compact lifestyle as even now I barely have any possessions, I never watch television. I like the idea of being more self sufficient , to survive more independently on my own. I'm also single and have no children so that's a really big advantage and I think makes more sense to do this now then when I'm older (I'm 29..). I have always been kind of a "hermit-crab" :p, but also think meeting other people
with similar interests would be great.

Anyways although this idea excites me a great deal, **I'm also pretty nervous about it**, but I guess I have a lot of time to sort things out and make a definate decision on this. I plan on taking some sort of sailing course (Anyplace recommended in Virginia?), then rent a sailboat? a couple times,
to just make for certain that this is a good choice for me before buying a boat.