SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Moving a 32' sailboat 1900 miles myself

9K views 32 replies 19 participants last post by  sailingdog 
#1 ·
I'm looking for advice for an affordable way to move a 32' LOA, 9' beam, 8300lb disp boat 1900 miles. The bid with hydraulic trailer was $7K.
I am an old farmer/sailor and can easily move 10,000 lbs of hay so why not a boat?
My idea is to build a cradle that will lock (strap) to the boat, use frames with rollers under the cradle then winch the entire load on an equipment trailer rated for >15000 load. I strap the whole load down and get on the road. I've called around and permits may be as much as $500 or less if I get them all myself state by state. As far as I can figure my expenses should be less than $2K.
Somebody please point out my mistaken thinking.

#31 ·
I am in Northwest Arkansas just south of Fayetteville on I-540. My situation is very flexible as of now. The boat is tucked away in her barn where I can leave her until Spring. I am anxious to get her home but I am getting more convinced that I should move her myself. If so I will have the ability to move her to water after the refit is done. That said if I ran into a way to make the move easier, safer and cheaper than I have to consider it.

#32 ·
go for it

The fact that your considering do it yourself tells a lot. Most people that don't no what to do shouldn't try it. (that would include the nay sayers) Go ahead and hammer me.