SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Moving a 32' sailboat 1900 miles myself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/59563-moving-32-sailboat-1900-miles-myself.html)

sailingbud 11-05-2009 10:23 AM

Moving a 32' sailboat 1900 miles myself

I'm looking for advice for an affordable way to move a 32' LOA, 9' beam, 8300lb disp boat 1900 miles. The bid with hydraulic trailer was $7K.
I am an old farmer/sailor and can easily move 10,000 lbs of hay so why not a boat?
My idea is to build a cradle that will lock (strap) to the boat, use frames with rollers under the cradle then winch the entire load on an equipment trailer rated for >15000 load. I strap the whole load down and get on the road. I've called around and permits may be as much as $500 or less if I get them all myself state by state. As far as I can figure my expenses should be less than $2K.
Somebody please point out my mistaken thinking.

sww914 11-05-2009 10:29 AM

After you have the cradle built I think it would be better to just hire a crane to lift it. My neighbor got one to his 29' boat, on to the crane company's trailer and hauled a few miles and unloaded for $400.00. You can probably hire a crane at either end for a couple hundred bucks each time and save yourself a world of hassle.

sailingbud 11-05-2009 11:02 AM

The trick is to get it out of the barn where it is on stands. No crane and if I'm dragging it out I figure why not just raise it to the level of my trailer then move it forward.

L02314564 11-05-2009 11:17 AM

Some states require a bond to be posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by sailingbud (Post 538797)
I'm looking for advice for an affordable way to move a 32' LOA, 9' beam, 8300lb disp boat 1900 miles. The bid with hydraulic trailer was $7K.