Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2009

sailingbud is on a distinguished road
Moving a 32' sailboat 1900 miles myself

I'm looking for advice for an affordable way to move a 32' LOA, 9' beam, 8300lb disp boat 1900 miles. The bid with hydraulic trailer was $7K.
I am an old farmer/sailor and can easily move 10,000 lbs of hay so why not a boat?
My idea is to build a cradle that will lock (strap) to the boat, use frames with rollers under the cradle then winch the entire load on an equipment trailer rated for >15000 load. I strap the whole load down and get on the road. I've called around and permits may be as much as $500 or less if I get them all myself state by state. As far as I can figure my expenses should be less than $2K.
Somebody please point out my mistaken thinking.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 11-05-2009
Aspiring to be a Mexican

sww914 is on a distinguished road
After you have the cradle built I think it would be better to just hire a crane to lift it. My neighbor got one to his 29' boat, on to the crane company's trailer and hauled a few miles and unloaded for $400.00. You can probably hire a crane at either end for a couple hundred bucks each time and save yourself a world of hassle.
Old 11-05-2009

The trick is to get it out of the barn where it is on stands. No crane and if I'm dragging it out I figure why not just raise it to the level of my trailer then move it forward.
Old 11-05-2009
Itz That Eazy!!!

L02314564 is on a distinguished road
Some states require a bond to be posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingbud View Post
I'm looking for advice for an affordable way to move a 32' LOA, 9' beam, 8300lb disp boat 1900 miles. The bid with hydraulic trailer was $7K.