SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Can't find the Life Jacket I want (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/60286-cant-find-life-jacket-i-want.html)

davidpm 12-03-2009 11:12 PM

Can't find the Life Jacket I want

I can't find the Life Jacket I want. I wear a life jacket from the time I step foot on the dock to the time I leave the dock.

What I wear is a West Marine type 3 sport model with a couple of front pockets, not inflatable.

I know the inflatables are all the rage but I just can't bring myself to trust them. Every year I buy one, read the instructions and take it back. I read about how the cartridge has to be installed just so. The clip has to be installed right side up. It can't be too old etc. etc. I'm afraid I've been a software engineer too long using Microsoft products. If I bought one and maybe 10 rearm kits and tried it out 8 or 9 times I might start to get comfortable. But then I would start to worry that the firing pin was not meant to be used that many times so it starts all over again.

I'm blessed with a very vivid imagination. I see myself being tossed around the deck and falling against the binnacle or life line and damaging the cylinder. Then getting tossed overboard. Or taking green water over the cockpit and the jacket inflating and my getting tossed overboard while I'm trying to deal with it.
I even wear my non-inflatable when diving on a wrapped prop. It's not easy getting down there, but I'm pretty sure I'm coming back up fast. Try that with an inflatable.