Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2009

shaile is on a distinguished road
What is the keel contribution in capsizing.

Hi all,
I am a newbie here (in the world I am veteran),
I wonder whether the keel contributes to decelerating a potential capsize in breaking waves or contributes to the rolling and thus to the potential capsizing.
In other words, is the stream under the boat slower than the rolling velocity while capsizing (then the keel stops the rolling) or does the stream under the boat actually pushes the keel (in breaking waves) and contribute to the rolling ?

thanks.

Please note, English is not my native language so forgive me for my clumsy english
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 12-29-2009

klem is on a distinguished road
The surface area of the keel does in fact contribute to a capsize when hit on the beam by a breaking sea. The force applied by the keel helps to roll a boat down the face of a wave. The breaking wave is forcing the boat to travel with it while the water the keel is in is essentially stationary. If you watch a surfer, there is a reason that they have to keep that edge of the board up to prevent tripping them. Outward Bound had a policy at one point that their open boats had to pull up the centerboard when running before the wind due to a capsize that had happened. They must have felt that tripping was a big problem for their boats and that it outweighed other factors.