SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Sailing from Newport RI to Champlain Lake

6K views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  mooregm5 
#1 ·
Hi,

I'm a newbie here and I want to plan my first trip with my new boat this spring. The boat is a Jeanneau 39 and I will be helped by a 35 years experience sailor (never sail this area) and possibly two other newbie. Sure I can bring the boat by ground to Lake Champlain but the idea is to get precious sailing experience by bringing the boat by sea and Hudson River. Lot’s of marina docking and some good sailing distance will give me a good base I hope.

If anybody already make this trip and can tell me how to get marina's location and information (opening date)? I plan to do this trip in beginning of May 2010 because Champlain canal (Hudson River to Champlain Lake) opens only May 1+. Basically, I think I need maps but if someone can give me a list of the best location to stop by for marinas quality and location to see from sea!

#2 ·
Be flexible with dates

You will need a couple of publications: chart books for Newport to NYC and for the Hudson River and Champlain Canal. Also you should get the appropriate cruising guides - the latter will have all of the marinas listed with contact info. You can call to find out when they open. I would imagine they will be all open by May.

The canal does open May 1 but that is only if the conditions allow so you need to be flexible about this. Also, it is not rare for the canal to open and then close again if water levels become too high.