Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2010

fordo is on a distinguished road
6-pack "near coastal" definition

I'm thinking of applying for a 6-pack license but I can't find a clear definition of "near coastal" experience. Does the Chesapeake or LIS count or only offshore in the "real" ocean? Although I have a lot of experience on the Sound, NY Harbor and the Chesapeake I only have about a week of offshore experience. Can I get an inland license and then possibly get an upgrade, or do I have to go through the whole process again?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-07-2010

klem is on a distinguished road
The inland boundary line generally runs along the most offshore points in an area. For a place like Maine, this means almost everything is inland but as you get further south, more stuff becomes offshore. Unfortunately, I have never looked at where the inland line runs in your area.

Whenever you upgrade a license, you do not need to retest unless you are going for a larger license. You can upgrade from inland to near coastal simply by submitting time.
Old 01-07-2010

nolatom will become famous soon enough
I think Near Coastal for licensing purposes, is out to 200 miles. I would think LIS would suffice.

Bear in mind that the boat itself may not be permitted to go more than 20 miles offshore, before SOLAS regs require more lifesaving equipment than most 6-packs carry, like life rafts or life floats, not just lifejackets.

Last edited by nolatom; 01-07-2010 at 05:58 PM.
Old 01-07-2010

CaptainForce will become famous soon enough