SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Sailing from San Francisco to Seattle (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/62017-sailing-san-francisco-seattle.html)

shieek 02-13-2010 01:11 PM

Sailing from San Francisco to Seattle

Alright, as a newbie, I have a simple question. With an experienced captain (and a low experienced owner/crewman) when would be the best time to sail my 35' sloop from San Fran to Seattle. She has a small Penta MD11C diesel for backup. Thanks for any responses from vessels that have made the trip. Cheers!

dabnis 02-13-2010 02:04 PM

Not now!! Maybe leave from about the first of June to early October, just my 2 cents worth. Try this link, kind of long but covers it pretty well.

http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruisi...ov-2008-a.html

Not a trip to be taken lightly, at any time.

Dabnis

shieek 02-13-2010 03:42 PM

Thanks

Thanks for the link .. good reading (and eye opening)

jmolan 02-13-2010 05:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dabnis (Post 569969)
Not now!! Maybe leave from about the first of June to early October, just my 2 cents worth. Try this link, kind of long but covers it pretty well.

http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cruisi...ov-2008-a.html

Not a trip to be taken lightly, at any time.

Dabnis

Late April, May and June. After June the NW kicks in and it is a drag. I have made wonderful passages in April and May. Good chance for S. winds and not too hard. Spring gales blow through pretty fast.

nissantwa 02-13-2010 08:51 PM