Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2010

nwbostic is on a distinguished road
Boat Ramp Jacksonville,FL

I am a student at Jacksonville University. I bought my first keel boat a Cal 24 Mark III in November of last year. I used the University's ramp to launch the boat, now its the end of the year and i need to recover the boat to take it to my hometown Charleston, Sc . The ramp at the university is too steep (60 degree down angle) to attempt to recover my boat. Curious if any of the experts here know of a ramp in Jacksonville that is well suited for recovering a fin keeled sailboat.

Cal 24 mark III
Draft 4ft 3inches
trailer is tandem axle
has tongue extension

Thanks
Nick
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-07-2010

FSMike is on a distinguished road
There's probably a knowledgeable person with the City of Jacksonville Parks Dept. that could tell you, but good luck finding him or her. You could also try the Florida Marine Patrol (FWC). Those guys know almost everything.
But I think you're missing a bet. Get a buddy to deliver your trailer and sail her up. It would be a great trip.
Old 04-07-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
You could also have a marina travelift pick the boat up and place it on the trailer.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps