Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2010

perlasowner is on a distinguished road
Catalina 30 Overheating

Hello,

I am new to boating. I recently bought a Catalina 30 sailboat. Here is the problem:

When starting the engine at the marina, the engine seems to run ok, after about 10 minutes the water temperature needle starts to go up and it does not stop climbing up to 200 degrees and going beyond. I usually stop the engine at this point. The running temperature usually is about 160 degrees and before when I took the boat out it always ran at around 160 degrees.

Am I doing something wrong by running the engine while tied at the marina? I do give it a bit of power in order to make sure that water is running through the cooling system and water comes out of the exhaust.

Could it be that debris went up the raw water intake and it is blocking the system. How common is this?

I have been reluctant to take the boat out since I noticed this. Thanks for any help

The engine is a universal m320b. Water does come out of the exhaust. I do check the coolant and it appears to be normal. The prior owner had the impeller replaced, but I do not know when this was done.

Last edited by perlasowner; 04-20-2010 at 03:30 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-19-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Does water come out of the exhaust when you start the engine?? If not, you have a problem. If the water is sporadic or very low flow...