Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2010

creedence623 is on a distinguished road
Sanity Check (Norfolk to Bermuda)

Hey guys. I've had a lot of downtime lately, and it's true what they say about idle minds.

I'm thinking of taking a trip to Bermuda, and thought I would bring my plan to the group for a bit of a sanity check.

The plan:
I am thinking about finding a good weather window in early to mid June and making the 650 mile run from Norfolk to Bermuda spending a week and returning. I know a lot of the world cruisers are probably rolling their eyes at my proposed milk run, but this will be the longest off shore passage I've made.

Background:
I've been sailing regularly for the past 7 years. I started out lake sailing for a year on a little 17' boat I bought on a whim, then moved up to a 36 footer when I moved to Hawaii (after a brief stint in a 28' center console power boat- please don't hold that against me) which I used to sail around the Hawaiian Islands.
I bought my current boat, a 1987 Catalina 36 mkI, two years ago and have been sailing and getting it up to scratch ever since. I am now at a point where I feel intimately familiar with the boat, and feel confident enough in my abilities to tackle a 650 trip.