Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2010

OjoRojo is on a distinguished road
Clearing customs questions

Newbie here. We have a bareboat charter in mid-June out of St. Martin (Marigot). This our first time to this region. Only have 1 week but would like to see Anguilla & St. Barts while there. Night #1 will be at the charter's marina. Day#2 we sail to Anguilla for 2 night's anchorage.
Questions:
1.)Can we clear in and out of Anguilla at the same time (assuming a 2 night stay)
2.)Will Anguillan authorities want to see any 'cleared out' papers I got by clearing out of St. Martin?
3.)How does these authorities keep track of all this?

4.)On Night #3 we would like to moor at Ile Pinel near Orient Beach for one night then off to St. Barts. I don't think there are customs offices in Orient Beach area however. How do the authorities know whether I am viably 'cleared' to be in St. Martin or not. Afterall, St. Martin is where I started.

BTW. All my prior sail experiences have been confined to the BVI, hence my ignorance.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-28-2010
Barking Dog

KindOfBlue is on a distinguished road
You do need to clear out of St Martin.

In Anguilla you can clear in/out at the same time, but only if you stay 24 hours or less. I can't remember if they want to see your papers from clearing out of St Martin. Some ports ask for your prior papers, but some prior ports (i.e. the US) don't require that you clear out, so you can just tell them that you don't have them. But you will have them from clearing out of St Martin.