Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2010
biteandbooze.com

jaydducote is on a distinguished road
Sailing Pontchartrain

Hey guys,
I am looking for info about sailing Lake Pontchartrain in Louisiana. I've never sailed the lake before but I've sailed in Ireland, San Francisco, Baltimore, Chicago, and Alaska. I live in Baton Rouge and really want to start sailing here. I'm about to buy a 27' Catalina in Slidell and I'll need to sail it over to Madisonville. This is pretty much all the way across the north side of the lake, and I have to cross under the causeway. Does anybody have any advice for this? I'm no expert sailor, and the boat will be new to me, but I do know what I'm doing when I'm on a boat. What I don't know is about navigating the waters, going through the draw bridge, exactly how long the Slidell to Madisonville trek should take, etc. Since I live in Baton Rouge, Madisonville is the closest marina area on the lake to me, which is why I'll want to move it from Slidell. Any help, advice, or words of wisdom would be great. Thanks!

Jay
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-06-2010

ROSA is on a distinguished road
Hello Jay. We live in Slidell and have sailed Pontchartrain for the last 40 years.