Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2010

greggyN is on a distinguished road
Chart Navigation

Hi everyone,

A little background...I am finishing a tour in Iraq as a Communications Officer in the Army and will be purchasing my first sailboat in a couple months. About to make an offer on an Aleutka 25!

My background is in flying...learned to fly at age 15 and received my license at 17. I also have quite a bit of ocean going experience as a cadet at one of the state Maritime Academies in Marine Engineering before life threw a curveball and I wound up with a degree in English and an Army Commission. That being said, my love for the ocean when I was with the merchant marine is what possessed me to purchase a sailboat and enjoy the water as a pleasure activity instead of work.

With all of my flying experience I know quite a bit about navigation and particularly how it is a meshing of many different sources into one "complete picture." Flying light aircraft will prove that it is not if, but when, you will lose your electrical system and be left with your paper charts and dead reckoning...things I quite enjoy (well the navigation, not losing electricity!) and am pretty comfortable with.

So with my free time over here in the sand box I have been reading all sorts of learn to sail type stuff and the last couple days I started taking a serious look at marine navigation. I will be able to transpose alot of my aviation skills to the marine world, but one question that I cannot find an answer to online is driving me nuts!

What charts do you use to plot on when you are crossing an ocean? I know, sounds stupid, but I can't nail this down. All the NOAA charts are near coastal. British Admiralty?