Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2010

ziwiki is on a distinguished road
Day Sail Business

After a somewhat lubricated bull-session with some friends about running away and starting a sailing business...I found myself wondering whether this might actually be possible. Alot of work, crazy, but perhaps a way out of the office cubicle parade. I have some experience in sailing and some in business, but none with the two of them together and I need to develop some general insight about this business...the good, the bad, AND the ugly. Are there any business owners out there who could share their experiences? Thoughts on starting one from scratch or buying in or purchasing an existing one? Places to do more research?

Thank you -z
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-27-2010

SJ34 is on a distinguished road
Been in your shoes. Got seriously burned out after lots of years at the grindstone and started a business around one of my favorite hobbies.

Unfortunately all I wound up doing was ruining a great hobby.
Old 06-27-2010

Thanks for the warning, but that isn't something I'm worried about. I have experience creating career choices from activities and passions.
Old 06-28-2010

Omatako will become famous soon enough
Without having any idea about where you are, it would be somewhat difficult for anyone to comment sensibly.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Two possibilities exist: Either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying."

Arthur C. Clarke
Old 06-28-2010

SJ34 is on a distinguished road