Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2010
Capt Ron

southwindphoto is on a distinguished road
Passage to sea from northern Florida Keys advise

I just purchased a 35 Morgan sloop mark 2. Itís a centerboard, 4ft 6 draft. Itís currently located in Manatee Bay Key Largo. While I have years of experience piloting the area in a 17- Boston Whaler, I have no experience, piloting a sailboat, in these waters.

My question is Iím bringing my new boat home to St Augustine the end of July, and thus I need to get offshore to bluewater.

Some have suggested Angelfish Creek and other say use Biscayne Cannel, and still others have said to travel on north to Miamiís main channel.

So my question to you is which passage to sea do you normally use.

Many thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-10-2010

scottyt is on a distinguished road
channel 5 is easy, just do it during the day.
Old 07-10-2010
Old as Dirt!

svHyLyte is on a distinguished road
The question is, what is your level of experience sailing? If you are relatively new to the process, it might be wise to stay in the relatively more sheltered waters of Barnes Sound and Key Biscayne at least until you have a feel for the boat. Then head out Government Cut and blow up the Stream. If you have relatively more experience, go for Angle Fish Creek. Personally I feel better in deep water and would get into the Stream ASAP. The late afternoon weather can be a bit challenging at this time of year, however, and some of the squalls pretty spectacular, and if you and the yacht are not prepared to deal with that, going inside would be wiser.

FWIW...