Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2010

Dfok is on a distinguished road
Time to lighten up and sail

I freely confess to being a crank and a curmudgeon at times, but I got a boat to combat that.
After following this board for a year or so I've witnessed anger, intolerance and incivility steadily rise to a point where folks are attacked for their views on air conditioning, flags, or being a new member with a question.
Checking in for information, an idea, interesting or informative stories and experiences ought to be at the very least better than unpleasant. Counting the number of knives planted in someones back should not be part of a sailing forum, it can be done on any number of cable tv shows or other boards.
I wrote a long reply to a post the other night, then put it aside but can't get the idea out of my head. The flags fiasco thread degenerated into what could accurately be called sedition - an appeal for revolution against an established order. This extremist view is increasingly being trundled out in public, (OPINION HERE>perhaps with the intention of desensitizing us), but unless we are going to arm our sailboats, divide into opposing navies and fight it out on the bay it doesn't belong here.
As the Beetles sang "when you talk about destruction, don't you know that you can count me out".
On the other hand walking away from a hothead, bully or terrorist usually just gets you shot in the back.
Mom, Dad and the kindergarten teacher always said "slow down kids, someone is going to get hurt", advice that might well be used here.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-16-2010
Lake Sailor

cb32863 is on a distinguished road
I could not have worded it any better. Thanks, been feeling the same way.

S/V Papillon 1977 O' Day 25