SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Building your own boat

8K views 21 replies 16 participants last post by  denverd0n 
#1 ·
Someone slap me if am crazy, but I am considering building my own steel hull cruising sailboat.
I am a contractor with the following skills:
Welding (oxy, arc, mig, tig) no problem
Licensed Electrician, Construction & Maintenance
Licensed Refrigeration Mechanic
Licensed Gas Technician
Engines/mechanical: built my own street rod when I was in my twenties
Carpentry: good (brother-in-law is a Master carpenter and loves my idea)
Sailing: bareboat license
I am considering this direction because I have the time to build it, and I could feed the project $$ as it progresses. If I could put 25k per year for 5 years (plus my time) I think I could have a great 40' liveaboard vessel.
Bruce Roberts has some great boat building plans.

or......in your experience, this is generally not a good idea?

No regrets.

See less See more
#2 ·
SLAP! Cheaper to buy a good used cruiser. :D

:D boat building skills are quite different then general construction. You'll have to understand how to read tables of offsets. Then, there's lofting involved which is quite a mystery to some. Then, just finding a building site and shelter for a very long time while building is often a problem. If you building in steel or alum the metalurgy has to be a certain type I think too.

I think a quick search will find you hundreds maybe thousands of boats built and left unfinished by well meaning well intended people just like you :)

Ok assume you built the boat? Now to fit it out.. Then the standing rigging, masts spars. winches.. $$$$$$$$

40ft?? would cost you easy 200K! but that's just a W.A.G

#3 ·