SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Before buying your monohull, did you consider ... (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/67763-before-buying-your-monohull-did-you-consider.html)

rockDAWG 08-27-2010 03:47 PM

Before buying your monohull, did you consider ...

Did you consider others multi-hull boats? I have no experience in multi-hull except a week of sailing a Hobie cat 16.

Hesper 08-27-2010 04:13 PM

Not for a minute. In addition to all it's other required attributes, a boat must be beautiful. Multihulls aren't.

sailingdog 08-27-2010 04:32 PM

When I was looking to buy my boat, I did look at both monohulls and multihulls... I've sailed on both a lot and decided to go with a multihull for several reasons.

Insails 08-27-2010 04:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sailingdog (Post 637454)
When I was looking to buy my boat, I did look at both monohulls and multihulls... I've sailed on both a lot and decided to go with a multihull for several reasons.

speed huh:))

sailingdog 08-27-2010 04:34 PM

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder... and there are ugly monohulls as well as beautiful multihulls... All the heavy metals in your keel must have affected your IQ... :D
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hesper (Post 637446)
Not for a minute. In addition to all it's other required attributes, a boat must be beautiful. Multihulls aren't.

TQA 08-27-2010 04:41 PM

For a cruising catamaran to start making sense to me you need to be looking at 42 foot + , When you load up the smaller ones their performance starts to suffer.

At 45 feet they really start to work. However other than a couple of Prouts the price starts a 1/4M.$

Just too much for me.

jcalvinmarks 08-27-2010 04:52 PM