Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2010

pk5352 is on a distinguished road
Safe or Sorry? Earl question

Probably answered it for myself, but looking for opinions about preparation...I'm on the eastern end of Long Island. Most models put the storm tracking east of me, but clearly we will be getting some sustained winds on friday. So, I strip the sails tomorrow morning, right? Take down the furler and stow the main. Its the right call, right? (sorry if its a stupid question, its my first year on my first boat).

Good luck to everyone!
-pk

Last edited by pk5352; 09-01-2010 at 10:44 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-01-2010

poopdeckpappy has a spectacular aura about poopdeckpappy has a spectacular aura about
If it helps you sleep over the next few nights, then hell yeah it's the right call.

what are the winds forecasted at ?

btw, check your neighbors, you'll be surprized how many don't think ahead

Freedom comes when you’re ready to sail away. True freedom comes when you don’t have to return

Cut off from the land that bore us, betrayed by the land we find, where the brightest have gone before us and the dullest remain behind, .......but stand to your glasses, steady,.......tis all we have left to prize, raise a cup to the dead already, hurrah for the next that dies

Last edited by poopdeckpappy; 09-01-2010 at 11:29 PM.
Old 09-02-2010

JimsCAL is on a distinguished road
I'm on the western end of LIS and plan on taking my sails and dodger off this afternoon. Better safe than sorry. I've been through 2 in the past 30 years and never sorry I took the time to prepare. If in a slip, double up on the the lines and if on a mooring, add some chafe gear.
Old 09-02-2010

remetau is on a distinguished road