Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2010

5hortBu5 is on a distinguished road
What's too windy for a dinghy sail?

I'm a newbie Javelin (14') skipper, and I'd like to keep from getting in over my head. Any quick and dirty rules of thumb for sailplans for different conditions?

My Main is 90 square feet
My Jib is 35

I'm looking at 15mph winds tonight, and wondering what to fly, or whether or not I should even go out there. What do you all think?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 09-09-2010
Move over Joan Rivers!

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
What kind of water? It would be exciting in a 14ft boat for sure. Reef the main, let it out later if you feel you need more sail. It appears to be a fractional rig so maybe you don't need the jib if the air is real heavy.
Have fun!

My boat is for sale.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 09-09-2010
Move over Joan Rivers!

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
Oh.. found this nice web site for your boat. lots of info there!

The O'Day Javelin Project

My boat is for sale.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 09-09-2010

tommays will become famous soon enough
Its really something you have to work up to in terms of finding your personal comfort level

Around here the wind builds for a while in the evening and it might start at 15 and peak up much higher for a few hours

1981 J24 Tangent 2930
Tommays
Northport NY

If a dirty bottom slows you down what do you think it does to your boat
Old 09-09-2010
Ex Member

ste27 is on a distinguished road