SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

pirates in mexico and texas

12K views 73 replies 28 participants last post by  1833usmc 
#1 ·
#49 ·
I have been spending 6 to 8 months a year for three years sailing on the west coast of Mexico. Most marinas or areas have daily VHF nets, and when not in marinas we have daily SSB and Ham nets. Not once in three years have I heard on any of these nets of violence against boaters. I haven't run into one boater who had any bad stories about boating in Mexico. Almost every single Mexican person I have met has been friendly, helpful, and hard working. It is safe at night, and safe in the day. Once a year or so somebody loses a dinghy, but we aren't sure if their knot was bad or what. A well known nice guy fell off the dock in Barra two years ago and killed himself.

The problems in Mexico are highly localized. Stay away from lakes that the border runs through, and on which reports of gun battles have been posted. Stay away from the border. Boating along the west coast is safe and wonderful. The people are great.

If you haven't been there, don't slam it. If you think you have educated yourself about how violent it is and are afraid, take another look at the highly localized nature of the violence. I had to laugh at the racist views posted above, mindless opinions straight out of Glen Beck or Rush L. Highly emotional words with no factual content. Remember, we own California and the southwest by right of conquest, which is okay by me but which does sorta piss off the Mexicans, eh?