Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2011

ClaireFAISE is on a distinguished road
Advice: Making a Sailing Video Game

I'm combining my two loves, game design and sailing, to create a leisure game for portable platforms (phones, tablets, etc).

I'm new to sailing. I just started reading The Complete Sailor (great book) and in the spring I will take lessons and go sailing on my own while being supervised by friends and family that know how to sail. But here is where I need your help:

In the game, you start off with a small, 'okay' boat. The MO is to sail around (with a wind physics engine and game controls that will mimic controlling a sail boat as accurately as possible) and find sunken treasure or maybe discover/chart islands. There will probably be other things to do too. But you use the wealth you accumulate from these activities to upgrade and enhance your boat. New sails, new hulls, new radars and weather equipment, etc etc.
  • What different things could I have on a sail boat that could be 'upgraded' besides sails, hulls, and radar?
  • If you had to put sails, hulls, etc in order from worst performance to best performance, how would that order go?

btw, I don't mean brands, I mean sail types (square, lateen, marconi, etc) though if there are different fabrics sails are made out of that could be considered better or worse, that would be very appreciated information!

Thank you so much, I can't wait to make this.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-08-2011

SailingWebGuy is on a distinguished road
You could purchase items that could extend the length you could sail without docking...wind gen, solar panels, water maker.
Old 01-08-2011

tommays will become famous soon enough