Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2011

BudgieSmugglers is on a distinguished road
colour blindness & navigation

they say that one in ten males are colour blind..... i`m one of those & tend to be colour blind in the red spectrum. this can be very daunting & i lack confidence especially at night. any colours that have red in them such as purple, mauve, marroon etc. really fool me...funny really, as i used to be a professional photographer, but colours in nature don`t clash & i never had problems. but put me in a photographic studio & i`m lost. in australia they are replacing the cones & the cans on top of poles with lights. the shape of the cones & cans in daylight were great for me....even at night i could shine a spotlight on them & pick out the shapes. if it was triangular i new it was green. with the lights i really can`t tell the difference between red & green until i get very close to them. i was wondering if others have the same problem & if anyone has any ideas to help improve my situation.
Old 01-18-2011

tommays will become famous soon enough
In are Harbor we have a lot of red/green unlighted Nuns that are tough even with normal color abilty as on a really dark night the green is really tough to spot

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1981 J24 Tangent 2930
Tommays
Northport NY

If a dirty bottom slows you down what do you think it does to your boat
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-18-2011

cdhickey is on a distinguished road