Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2011

flyboyzz1 is on a distinguished road
Buying in Winter

First off I should warn that I am very new to sailing but not boating. Looking to buy a used 24-28' boat to use this summer. I recently found a private sale of an Erickson 27. Checked it out yesterday and it seemed very nice for a mid 70s boat. Had some things about it that made me very interested: 2002 Yanmar engine with 150 hours, wheel, new mainsail, nice inventory of serviceable sails, decent paint with no signs of blistering among others. Current owner had a survey from 2006 available which checked out good with some very minor fixes mentioned (wrong fuel tank color, dated flares, ect.). Problem is I really don't have any idea what I am doing or looking for or at . I would feel comfortable having a survey done but not sure that would be any good seeing that it is 20'F and the boat is outside and winterized. Looking for advice or suggestions! Do people put a deposit or something down on the boat pending a survey in warmer weather where everything can be checked? Seller told me he was going to keep it listed privately for a bit and then give it to a broker which he would have to raise the price (wasn't trying to pressure me). Ideas???
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-23-2011

omaho5 is on a distinguished road
Sounds like good gamesmanship on his part. I would not spend money and not have it surveyed.
There are more than several areas that could spell MORE money after the purchase. You want to have that knowledge before. Then you can be better prepared to make a decision.
Old 01-23-2011

tommays will become famous soon enough