Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2011

Sabreman will become famous soon enough Sabreman will become famous soon enough
Scuba Certified - FINALLY!

After 30 years, I finally received my PADI Open Water Scuba certification. I took a NAUI course in 1979 and finished the desk and pool work but never did the open water dives (I was a recent college grad and ran out of money). I've been kicking myself ever since and certification became a Bucket List item for me. Since my work takes me to Hawaii a few times a year, I took an Introductory Dive through Fathom Five Divers in Kauai. It was a blast and the dive master encouraged me to take the full course since I was pretty comfortable in the water.

I took the PADI eLearning online course in Oct-Nov and passed the final exam with a 98%. I did my pool work last Tuesday and 3 ocean dives off Koloa Landing on Sunday so now I'm certified! Through the course, I learned a few things applicable to boats:

1. Mask and Fins are a safety item that should be on all boats. This really didn't come from the course, but we consider them mandatory on Victoria. Snorkel is optional, IMO.
2. Divers always have a plan before entering the water. How many sailors have a plan (more commonly called a float plan) for even a day sail? Pretty few, I expect.
3. Divers check their equipment before entering the water. Too many sailors jump on board, fire the engine, and leave the dock. Weather, bilge, engine, rigging, etc. should be checked before departing the dock. How many boaters have we seen cast lines and then start the engine? Similarly, if a diver waits until he's descending before checking his air supply, he could be a dead diver.