Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2011

BrinyDeep is on a distinguished road
How big a boat is too big?

I am new to sailing and wanting to purchase a boat within the next year. Not sure about anything, other than I want to go coastal cruising, and possibly take a long ( a week or so) vacation possibly several hundred miles away. I've got three small kids, and divorced, so I may be solo on the long trip. Just wanted to know what you all thought, How BIG is too big for a boat. With prices on boats nowadays, I've got my pick of sizes. Thinking somewhere between 22' and 45' . Of course, that's pretty much all of the usual cruising sized boats out there. Obviously bigger is better, and I'm not afraid to do my own maintenance, (ie woodwork, paint, mechanical, electrical, etc.), but really, if a 45' boat was everyone's dream, then that's all that would be available. So how big is too big? And why?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 02-08-2011
Bathurst NB

PeterSailer is on a distinguished road
Instead of asking how big is too big, you should ask your self, what is the smallest boat I can get away with...Remember, the bigger the boat, the harder to single hand, maintain and all the parts, rigging, sails,motor.... will be way more costy to replace. You will also pay more in the marinas.

What is the point of buying a 45 footer for x$$ if you can have a 32-35 for the same price but in better shape and with all the toys already install on it ?
Old 02-08-2011

CBinRI is on a distinguished road
Have you thought about chartering? Sailing isn't for everyone and a boat (despite the favorable market) is a fairly large investment. You may be annoyed with yourself if you invest and then find it's too much work or too time-consuming.