SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   What state for Dinghy or tender registration (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/71964-what-state-dinghy-tender-registration.html)

lostatsi 02-10-2011 12:06 PM

What state for Dinghy or tender registration

I am a resident of South Dakota yet my Boat and it's tender are kept in Ca. The boat is USCG documented, out of state sale. The tender has no #s or registration ( thrown in with purchase because owner said it wouldn't run, gas helps a lot but that's another post )and I am afraid to use it. I have searched the Ca. DMV sites and although it IS clear that any boat with a motor MUST be registered to use, it is not clear where I should do this. I was hoping for advise from someone who has had a similar experience. Believe it or not when I contact the Ca. DMV I find that after the hold time on the phone I learn nothing.

RichH 02-10-2011 12:13 PM

The 'usual' is to register any boat in the state of "principal usage".

BoatUS.com: Government Affairs

sailingdog 02-10-2011 12:25 PM

Since your boat is kept in CALIFORNIA, you would need to REGISTER THE TENDER IN CALIFORNIA.

newhaul 02-10-2011 02:24 PM

heres some info i found
Vessel Boat Registration and Information
The following vessels do not have to be registered in California:

Vessels propelled solely by oars or paddles.
Non motorized sailboats that are eight feet or less in length.
Non motorized surfboards propelled by a sail and with a mast that the operator must hold upright.
A ship’s lifeboat (a dinghy is not a lifeboat).
so it appears you dont need to register it if you row it and dont use the motor. with any motor you have to register it in California
here in WA you dont need to register a tender as long as all it does is between shore facilities and your main vessel.