Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2011
Lost at Si!

lostatsi is on a distinguished road
What state for Dinghy or tender registration

I am a resident of South Dakota yet my Boat and it's tender are kept in Ca. The boat is USCG documented, out of state sale. The tender has no #s or registration ( thrown in with purchase because owner said it wouldn't run, gas helps a lot but that's another post )and I am afraid to use it. I have searched the Ca. DMV sites and although it IS clear that any boat with a motor MUST be registered to use, it is not clear where I should do this. I was hoping for advise from someone who has had a similar experience. Believe it or not when I contact the Ca. DMV I find that after the hold time on the phone I learn nothing.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-10-2011

RichH will become famous soon enough
The 'usual' is to register any boat in the state of "principal usage".

BoatUS.com: Government Affairs
Old 02-10-2011
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Since your boat is kept in CALIFORNIA, you would need to REGISTER THE TENDER IN CALIFORNIA.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this