SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Mexico Sailing (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/72081-mexico-sailing.html)

bobthornberry 02-15-2011 02:44 PM

Mexico Sailing

Hello!
I am new to your foru, but am enjoying it very much.
Two Questions:
1.) I have an opportunity to purchase a 30' Wharram catamaran that is on the hard in Hualutco, Mexico now. I am considering sailing it down the coast, transit the canal. What is the current status of safety issues in Mexican waters given the drug problems?
2.) What are my options after leaving the canal to sail to Houston given the trade winds / currents in that area?
Thanks very much!
Bob

sailingdog 02-15-2011 03:03 PM

IIRC, the real danger areas in Mexico currently are near the US border. You might want to check the US State Department travel advisories though.

I would be a bit leery of traveling to buy a boat unseen and then voyaging in it without doing a proper shakedown and such. This is especially true of a decades old catamaran which was very likely home-built with less than proper materials. The multihull building craze from the 1960s/1970s had a produced a lot of very low quality, poorly built boats that gave multihulls a bad name for a long time.

BTW, which model Wharram catamaran is it?

mdbee 02-15-2011 03:42 PM

I wouldn't set foot over the border.

Justice in Mexico

Mexico

SlowButSteady 02-15-2011 04:13 PM

You might want to poke around the Latitude38 website and look for letters, editorials, et cetera, about sailing in Mexican waters. In general, they are big fans of Mexican sailing.

YeahJohn 02-15-2011 05:41 PM