Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2011

bobthornberry is on a distinguished road
Mexico Sailing

Hello!
I am new to your foru, but am enjoying it very much.
Two Questions:
1.) I have an opportunity to purchase a 30' Wharram catamaran that is on the hard in Hualutco, Mexico now. I am considering sailing it down the coast, transit the canal. What is the current status of safety issues in Mexican waters given the drug problems?
2.) What are my options after leaving the canal to sail to Houston given the trade winds / currents in that area?
Thanks very much!
Bob
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-15-2011
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
IIRC, the real danger areas in Mexico currently are near the US border. You might want to check the US State Department travel advisories though.

I would be a bit leery of traveling to buy a boat unseen and then voyaging in it without doing a proper shakedown and such. This is especially true of a decades old catamaran which was very likely home-built with less than proper materials. The multihull building craze from the 1960s/1970s had a produced a lot of very low quality, poorly built boats that gave multihulls a bad name for a long time.

BTW, which model Wharram catamaran is it?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps