Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2011
young salt

Cruxandreams is on a distinguished road
80 mile move with no motor????

I just got a boat that does no have a working motor, that I need to get up toward Baltimore/ Annapolis from about 70-80 miles south. she's a heavy, slow vessel that I have never sailed. She is a ketch, and I am a novice sailor. wondering what kind of ideas you "experts" can come up with to get my girl to make the trip in one piece. I was thinking about getting a tow out into the chessy, and try to sail her up, then find another tow in to port...
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-17-2011

scottyt is on a distinguished road
not a problem, just might be a slow trip. although this is the perfect time of year for it, the winds are still good and the days are not bad with no storms normally. just cold at night, do it with the right gear and do it in one shot, should just be one over night.

it might be done in one day are three. where in baltimore are you going as getting out is easy getting in can be much worse?
Old 03-17-2011

GBurton is on a distinguished road
If you are a novice I would suggest getting an experienced guy to go along at the very least... I wouldn't attempt it without a working motor personally.
Old 03-17-2011

bljones has a spectacular aura about bljones has a spectacular aura about
Three posts in and nobody has lobbed a Pardy?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 03-17-2011
young salt