Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2011

rmeador is on a distinguished road
dock lines: tight or loose?

I'm new to the whole sailing thing and I'm not quite sure I've got the dock lines figured out. I have two spring lines, two stern lines (crossed; I'm parked stern-to), and a bow line. I do not have snubbers, though I'm considering getting some. Very few of the boats in my marina have snubbers.

I think the lines stretched some over the winter. The boat seemed to be moving around in the slip a lot more than it did in the fall. I didn't like the feeling of it slamming against the limit of one of the lines or smashing into a fender. I figured smaller movement = less force, so I tightened up the lines. Now the movement is somewhat better, but I get the impression it is unhappy. It makes a lot more creaking noises. I wonder if the tighter lines are putting more stress on the hull? Perhaps it's trying to heel in the wind (the plastic wrap is still on), and the lines/fenders won't let it?

How tight should dock lines be? How much motion in the slip is the right amount? Is it more stress on the hull/cleats to have it moving around or sitting still unable to move? Thanks.
Old 03-31-2011
Large Member

mdbee is on a distinguished road
Floating dock? Tide range?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-31-2011

It is a floating dock. I assume that nullifies the need to know the tide range, but the range is about 12' (according to my observations; officially I think it's about 9').
Old 03-31-2011
Senior Slacker

SlowButSteady is on a distinguished road