Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2011

ScubaSailorLA is on a distinguished road
Am I ready to skipper a short coastal trip?

I've been sailing for five years now. I took the basic Keelboat class before purchasing my O'Day 31, and have sailed her in protected waters ever since. My only coastal experience was when the hired captain and I motor sailed her from her old port (St. Pete, FL), to her new home in Louisiana.

I would love to get started with coastal cruising, for a first trip, just sailing her south into the Gulf of Mexico to clear water (that's about 50 miles out), spending a day swimming around the boat, then sailing back in.

Although I haven not taken marine navigation training, I am familiar with aviation navigation. I can read nautical charts. I have not taken any type of coastal cruising class, but I did receive a lot of free "training" from my eleven days on the water with the captain when we brought the boat home.

I feel like it's a simple trip, fifty miles south and back, but I have never skippered a coastal trip before. I can handle all the provisioning for such a trip, but I'm I biting off more than I can chew? I guess I don't know what I don't know.

Last edited by ScubaSailorLA; 04-25-2011 at 09:20 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-25-2011

Yorksailor is on a distinguished road
Yes, just don't jump off the boat to go swimming!

Phil
Old 04-25-2011

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorksailor View Post
Yes, just don't jump off the boat to go swimming!

Phil
Silly question from me: Why not? I'm a SCUBA diver, so the thought of doing some free swimming in blue water is appealing. I would wear a horse collar for safety.

Last edited by ScubaSailorLA; 04-25-2011 at 09:40 AM.
Old 04-25-2011
Chastened