Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2011

deadchest is on a distinguished road
Heaving to.....what gives.

Ok, so technically I'm a newbie; but I've been reading threads on Sailnet for several years and have learned a great deal by reading what others have posted. However, I've consistently come across inconsistent info as it pertains to the proper heave to methods.

My ASA instructors all state that the main must be luffed in order to maintain the vessel in the heave to position. But I keep reading in different forums and websites like sailonline and ehow, that you must sheet in the mainsail and bring it tight to midship. So what gives? Which is it? Do we luff the main or sheet it in tight. Is there one preferred over the other in light air verses heavy weather?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 05-12-2011
Learning the HARD way...

eherlihy will become famous soon enough
When Heaving To, keep the jib tight on what ever tack you are on, then tack, don't touch the jib sheet, ease the main. Your instructors are right.
Old 05-12-2011

Tempest is on a distinguished road
In my experience, each vessel will behave differently, depending upon the wind, current and the amount of sail you have up.

You have to experiment with this under all those varying conditions to strike the right balance

It's about balance: headsail, rudder, wind, current etc.

I will heave-to in order to reef the main. To do that, I need to take the pressure off the main. I also need to have the genoa furled properly for the conditions. If I have too much headsail out, she will not settle in.

If you have the right balance of headsail and rudder, you can luff the main..
( not flog).