Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2011

davidbutziger is on a distinguished road
Atlantic Crossing - Scotland to NE US

I am planning to relocate an older, small sized Brigantine from Scotland to New England, US. I would like any advice regarding route (Azores or nothern - Iceland, Greenland . . . or other), time to go, and any other comments for my planning. I have extensive blue water experience but not a crossing. Thanks
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-15-2011
Bombay Explorer 44

TQA is on a distinguished road
Head South till the butter melts turn right, sail west 2000 miles or so then North.
Old 05-15-2011
Super Fuzzy Moderator

tdw is a jewel in the rough tdw is a jewel in the rough tdw is a jewel in the rough
TQA,
The southern route is obviously a lot longer than northern. I really know bugger all about the Atlantic other than what I read but if you chose the Northern route what time of year is best ?

Also, wouldn't the sail north along the US east coast tend to be a hard slog ?

"Do you think God gets stoned? I think so... Look at the platypus." Robin Williams.
Old 05-15-2011
Bombay Explorer 44

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdw View Post
TQA,
The southern route is obviously a lot longer than northern. I really know bugger all about the Atlantic other than what I read but if you chose the Northern route what time of year is best ?

Also, wouldn't the sail north along the US east coast tend to be a hard slog ?
It is all to do with the Azores high and the trade wind belt. The best time is April May when the belt should be well North. If It is delivery it might be possible to skirt just North of the Canaries and head across for about 2000 miles before heading towards Bermuda. From Bermuda to the NE USA you 'should' be in SWs.