Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2011

g0twind is on a distinguished road
Crewing Advice Needed

I have been given a spot to be a crew member for a race on a Pearson 26. I have been sailing for about 15+ years but have never been part of a race.

The races are Wednesday nights out of a local yacht club on Lake Ontario.

What should I expect? What gear should I bring? Any other advice?

Thanks in advance!
Old 05-16-2011

JordanH is on a distinguished road
I've got lots of experience of being the "new guy" onboard as I've just spent the last 5 summers trying out different crews and boats while on my quest to finding what works for me. You'll need to be more specific in your questions or I could talk to you for hours.
Q1. What should you expect?
A1. Perhaps too vague a question. Club racing can be as casual or as competitive as those around you want to make it. I've sailed on crews where my FIRST task as a crew member was to go buy ice for the warm beer they handed me as I stepped on deck. My typical crew is very competitive and alcohol isn't permitted until back in the club-house; for regatta's we restrict all excess weight onboard - we're not even allowed to stow shore-shoes onboard. Your expectations vary widely within a fleet; the type of boat, the skipper and crew variations are huge.

Q2. What gear should you bring?
A2. A new crew member should bring their own...
- Must have: Personal gear; Gloves, Shoes, foulies, rigging knife (Should have blade and ideally has shackle key and lanyard), losable hat, polarized sunglasses with neckstrap