Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2003

KainX is on a distinguished road
Please help me... re: live aboard

My GF and I want to live on the ocean. I have made a few other posts with other questions, but here is one of my biggies...

Work;

I am by trade a bartender and my GF is a waitress, I am physically fit and handle labour. If we do go live on a boat how can we make money? we are still young and we don''t have a fortune tucked away in our bank account.
What are some of the ways people can make money when living on a boat? can we make enough to live for a year? or even the rest of our lives?

thank you for your time,

Jared/Stephanie
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-15-2003

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about

Short of being an itinerant computer consultant, best way would to earn a liveable income while cruising is to develop boat repair skills. Probably highest on the list would be refrigeration, boat carpentry, diesel repair, and electrical skills. Specialized skills such as rigger or marine plumber would come next. General maintenance skills such as refinishing and deck hardware maintenance are a lot more common so would come next.

Writing books or articles can often add a little to the kitty.

I suggest that you pick up Anne Hills "Voyaging in a Small Income".

Best wishes,
Jeff
Old 07-15-2003

Thank you very much. What about living on my boat and travelling to islands and working as a bartender for a week? or going to a dock and doing some labour thats very short term? are these jobs likely to be there, or is that kind work scarce?