Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2011

turbulicity is on a distinguished road
How would you exit this slip

Please see the drawing below. My boat is 50' with 13.6' beam. The slip lengths are also 50'. My slip is wider than usual at 20'. I am new in this slip, both times I was getting out, I had troubles. Leaning to the dinghy of my neighbor two slips to starboard in one, scratching the hull at the outer part of starboard finger in the second (I have a roller there but the wood it was attached to broke). By the way, it will only be me and my wife handling the boat.

In my second attempt, I had a pretty experienced crew of 5. I pushed the boat to port side of the slip, tied a line to the stern cleat and put one crew on the outer part of the port finger to hold that line on the dock cleat. I told him to hold it fast, offsetting the draft and prop walk to starboard. He couldn't do it. Either it was too much force to manage, or he made a mistake. In any case, I won't try that strategy anymore.

So, any recommendations? Alternative is for me to get out of the slip at a slack time earlier and tie the boat at the guest dock until time to departure. That's totally OK but then I just can't cast off and go anytime I want.
Attached Thumbnails
How would you exit this slip-leaving_dock.jpg  
Old 06-24-2011

Tempest is on a distinguished road
Can you back into the slip?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-24-2011

Not really. Return is tricky as well but I figured out how to handle it. I have got no control in reverse under power, prop walk just overwhelms rudder. In neutral, little control. So backing into the slip is a tougher problem than backing out.
Old 06-24-2011
Mermaid Hunter

SVAuspicious will become famous soon enough